Posted by: benfrasier | May 24, 2007

We’re moving!

One reason for a lack of posts lately is due to my job search.  I felt like its inappropriate to talk about my job search on a blog so I decided to not mention too many details on here.  Unfortunately this search has taken my entire focus for the past few months so I haven’t had much material to blog.

But now I can announce that I have been offered and accepted the position of Assistant Director of Bands at Blackman High School in Murfreesboro, TN.  I am in awe of how God has made this decision so easy for me and Kim.  There are so many details that have perfectly fit together to make this opportunity possible.  I feel like I couldn’t have asked for a better position.

The school is only seven years old, but the band program has grown so rapidly that a new band room is currently being built.  I toured the new facility on Wednesday, and I was almost speechless at how impressive the facilities will be.  Honestly, its almost absurd to consider how spacious and luxurious the rehearsal area will be.

The marching band is non-competitive and travels with the football team to all their games.  This is the reason I actually applied for the job.  My education philosophy does not believe in building a program around marching band competitions.  But it seems that the band program at Blackman is more focused on real music education and supporting the athletic teams.

Basically, I feel like I believe in the philosophy of the band program and the school as a whole.  I can’t imagine walking into a better situation as a first year teacher.  God has blessed Kim and I beyond reason, and I am very thankful for his generosity.

Responses

  1. yay! I’m so happy you got a job you’ll love. It will also be great to have you and Kim closer again! I’m excited about this new way God is blessing you!

  2. I still can’t believe how much God has blessed us! God says to ask him for everything we need. Then he says to trust in him with all our heart and not lean on our own understanding. And when we do that and acknowledge him he will make our path straight. (Prov. 3:5-6) All I can say to that is “How true!” 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

